top of page
  • Writer's pictureJilly

Dairy-Free Dining: Breakfast Protein Bowl - Ale & Compass

Updated: Oct 6, 2019


I love a good Mickey Waffle as much as the next gal but if I'm being honest my favorite breakfast on Disney Property (currently) is this bowl from Ale & Compass. I’ve probably visited this restaurant more than any other in the last few months. Their dinner bowl is easily one of my top go-to meals and they have a great salad not to mention the modified vegan version of their buffalo cauliflower at lunch/dinner time. The only thing they are missing is a good dessert, however, I'm hoping with the new plant-based menus now being introduced that's going to change. But onto breakfast...


The Breakfast Protein Bowl ($17) is served with your choice of either a Tofu Scramble or Eggs with Quinoa, Sweet Potatoes, Chard, and Kale, Plant-based Sausage, Chocolate-Avocado Toast, Pickled Carrots, and Carrot-Ginger Dressing.


I opted to get my Eggs sunny side up but you can get them cooked any way you want unless you're vegan, then opting for the Tofu Scramble would make this meal 100% plant-based. The quinoa is cooked with some onions and peppers which makes it super tasty and flavorful and it's honestly some of the best quinoa I've ever had. Sweet potatoes are always a welcomed dish for me and they are cooked perfectly, a nice and different change then the normal breakfast potatoes you get at Disney.


In terms of the Chocolate-Avocado Toast, I almost always opt for peanut butter instead, and that's just a preference thing and has nothing to do with the taste or it not being good. I just really enjoy having peanut butter in the morning but the chocolate avocado spread is still delicious and I encourage you to try it.


My only real problem with this meal and it seems to be a common thing is the sausage. It's just not good, it's dry and tasteless and should really be replaced with a beyond sausage of some kind. The good thing is that there is so much on the plate that at least I get filled up without having to think about it. But I'm sure if you asked they could sub some sort of actual sausage or bacon, I don't eat red meat so that's never anything I've inquired about but I'm sure they would work with you on that.

5 views0 comments
bottom of page