top of page
  • Writer's pictureJilly

Dairy-Free Dining: Insalata di Mercato - Mama Melrose's Ristorante Italiano


I know, I know, I go to Mama Melrose's too much, but I'm an Italian girl from New York, it's in my blood.

So as we know from my previous visits there are a number of different appetizers that you can get here as well as enjoy the complimentary bread service. The Minestrone ($8), Baked Arancini ($13) are both dairy-free and the Flatbreads ($15-$18) can each be modified with vegan cheese if you'd like.


Today though we are talking about the Insalata di Mercato ($11). This salad has been different every time I have visited and some have definitely been better than others. On this trip, the Chef's ingredients were Cherry Tomatoes, Asparagus, Olives, Red Onion, Cucumbers & Foccacia Croutons over a bed of mixed greens tossed in a yummy Lemon Tarragon Vinaigrette. The only thing you need to do is omit the Feta Cheese to make the salad dairy-free.


I always say the dressing makes the salad and this dressing is to die for and the ingredients were fresh and delicious! Definitely make sure to ask on each trip what the salad is that day because they usually have great options like this.


4 views0 comments
bottom of page