top of page
  • Writer's pictureJilly

Chef Art Smith's Homecomin': Full Dairy-Free Review

Updated: Sep 16, 2019

I've been dying to try Homecomin' for a minute! I've also always been terrified to try Homecomin' 'cause you think southern home cooking and you think one thing, BUTTERMILK.


Well, have no fear because I not only ate brunch at Homecomin' I went back and had lunch so I was able to find multiple things that fit into your dairy-free diet.


For brunch, I started off with the Florida Crush ($12), which is just a fancy Screwdriver made with Tito's Vodka muddled with orange and strawberries, a splash of fresh-squeezed orange juice and agave syrup. It was really refreshing and the strawberry pieces were a nice touch (when they weren't getting stuck in my straw).

I then chose the Fried Egg and Avocado Toast ($20) as my main dish as it was one of the only options not served with a Cheddar Biscuit or fried in Buttermilk. I asked if this would be a problem and the server said the only thing they may do is butter the bread however after a trip to the kitchen he said I was all set.


The dish is served with 2 pieces of grilled Cuban bread topped with fresh avocado, a fried egg, arugula, radish, and pickled red onion drizzled with olive oil and lemon. Served with a choice of side item, I opted for fresh fruit as that seemed to be the safest item but I was so full I barely ate any of it anyway.


Chef Art is very much go big or go home and this was filling but DELICIOUS. 10/10 would order again.

My next visit was then for lunch. I was with a huge group of people this time and we ended up ordering two orders of the Church Lady Deviled Eggs ($12), which was an A+ idea. They came 6 to an order and are Dairy & Gluten-free as is. This was actually my first time ever having deviled eggs and now I want them constantly.


I, however, ended up eating far too many of them an opted to have the Key West Shrimp Cocktail ($16) as my main as I was already getting a little full.


This is served with seasoned shrimp hand-tossed with avocado, mango, cucumber, and their house-made cocktail sauce and is served with buttermilk crackers. Omitting the crackers makes this dish dairy-free as is! This was a tasty dish but the cocktail sauce didn't lay right with me if I'm being honest and I could have definitely used the crackers to settle it. Maybe I should have asked for a slice of that Cuban bread. Live and learn.


All around, I'd definitely go back to Homecomin' for brunch or the deviled eggs alone but I need to find a good entree 'cause the Shrimp Cocktail is just not cutting it for me.

120 views0 comments
bottom of page