top of page
  • Writer's pictureJilly

Dairy-Free Dining: Potjie Inspired - Sanaa

Updated: Sep 14, 2019


So we've already covered your appetizer, you're going to order bread service because you're a person with taste buds. But what about dinner?


Sanaa has this great option on the menu where you can build your own meal called Potjie-Inspired ($28). Basically, you pick one from the "Journey" which is an animal protein of your choice and one from the "Harvest" which is a plant-based option, these are then served with delicious Basmati Rice.

*Let it be known if you're vegan, you do have the option to choose both dishes from the "Harvest".


On the allergy-friendly menu, they give you two options for the "Journey", a Braised Beef or a Spicy Durban Shrimp. I went with the Shrimp cause I'm a seafood person through and through and this was some of the best shrimp I'd ever had. First of all, the amount served is misleading, I thought there was going to be 3 shrimp in the bowl but I just kept finding more, and the tails were removed which made eating 10x easier. The spices used seasoning any and everything in Sanaa are always on point and the cumin really comes through which for me is FANTASTIC.


For the "Harvest" the only option on the allergy menu is the Chickpea Wat, which is what I picked but I'm pretty certain all of the options can be modified to be made Dairy-Free. What is Wat may you be asking yourself? It's a stew made with mainly with cooked onions and spices and delicious. It reminded me of a Chana Masala I get all the time so I was very satisfied.


This is all served with delicious Basmati Rice, something about rice in Disney is so much better then any other rice so this isn't a throwaway dish. Also, get in those carbs, you need energy for those long park days.


Sanaa also has some sorbets on their menu for dessert as well as rice pudding. (But I would recommend grabbing the Flamingo Cake at the Mara back in Jambo House)

9 views0 comments
bottom of page