top of page
  • Writer's pictureJilly

Dairy-Free Dining: Pumpkin Spice Beignets - Sassagoula Floatworks and Food Factory



'Tis the season for all things Pumpkin Spice and Sassagoula Floatworks and Food Factory over at Port Orleans French Quarter has just the thing to celebrate spooky season.


French Quarter's seasonal beignet at the moment is, of course, Pumpkin Spice and I hopped over there for lunch recently to see what all the fuss was about. Now, keep in mind you need to request that these beignets be made Dairy-Free for you, the Mickey-shaped ones that they sell are NOT dairy-free and you must put in a special order for a batch to be made by a Chef. The plus side though is you know you're getting fresh, warm, pillowy beignets every time.


Now, I had never had a beignet in my life before this, I know, apparently this was a shock to people, I never even had a Zeppole and I come from a very heavy Italian family and to be honest maybe my expectations were higher then they should have been but at the end of the day, I didn't find anything exceptionally amazing about these. The Pumpkin Spice flavor is not strong and to be honest I'd had better doughnuts in my life then this beignet. I wouldn't get it again, and I barely ate one it was that underwhelming but if you're a fan of beignets, go for it.


The seasonal beignets come in groups of 3 for $4.49 or 6 for $6.99. Sassagoula also takes Tables in Wonderland so if you're a member, make sure to show that card at the register.

0 views0 comments
bottom of page