top of page
  • Writer's pictureJilly

Trattoria al Forno: Full Dairy-Free Review

Updated: Sep 16, 2019


At first glance Trattoria, al Forno has absolutely nothing free from dairy on their menu. Everything is either covered in cheese or made with butter. So why am I recommending this restaurant? Well upon my first visit I was pleasantly surprised by the lengths the staff and chefs will go to make your meal enjoyable. Even if that means making you your own customized dish!


First things first, the bread given on my visit was Dairy-Free and as it is an Italian restaurant Olive Oil was given in lieu of butter (although I'm sure if that's not your thing they can rustle you up some Earth Balance). So we started off pretty good. I then ordered the seasonal salad or, excuse me, ahem "Insalata di Stagione" (I'm cultured). The salad was comprised of Assorted Greens, Local Citrus, Pistachio Gremolata and Blood Orange Vinaigrette with the Midnight Moon cheese being omitted. The salad was delicious! I'm a strong believer that the dressing makes the salad and this vinaigrette was divine. This was $12 and I shared it but it was small enough for one person to eat it comfortably.


Then it was time for the main course. I'd heard they sometimes have dairy-free cheese available so if you're in the mood for pizza, do ask about that, however, I was craving pasta the whole day so I decided to see what my options were. And boy did I have options.


The waiter basically asked me what I was in the mood for and so I raddled off the ingredients for my favorite pasta dish. What I ended up with was Spaghetti with Shrimp, Mushrooms, and Broccoli in Garlic and Olive Oil. (There's a marinara sauce on the kids allergy-menu so I'm sure I could have opted for a red sauce had I been in the mood, but these two do seem to be the only options)


The pasta was delivered with a bigger portion of shrimp then I was expecting, I believe my server said they would put about 4 and there was probably double that on it. He also offered me a slew of vegetables to put into the pasta so if broccoli and mushrooms aren't your favorite, have no fear. The most shocking part of it all was the price! My dinner companion ordered the Bolognese which was $28 while my customized dish came in at $22! For a Shrimp dish. In Disney. DISNEY.


The only let down of the evening was the dessert. The standard Disney sorbet was an option but I decided to pass. However, if the pasta doesn't fill you up you could always bop a few doors down to the Boardwalk Bakery where they always have some Erin McKenna's Brownie Cupcakes to satisfy your sweet tooth.



7 views0 comments
bottom of page