top of page
  • Writer's pictureJilly

Toledo-Tapas, Steak & Seafood: Full Dairy-Free Review

Updated: Sep 16, 2019

I'd had a reservation at Toledo since reservations became available so to say I was looking forward to it is...an understatement. I actually planned a whole trip around this specific reservation. So I put on a cute new dress that I got from the sale rack at Target and drove over to the new Gran Destino Tower.

For those who don't know, Gran Destino Tower is a new building that's apart of Disney's Coronado Springs Resort that opened just a few weeks ago. Some things to note, Toledo and the Dahlia Lounge do NOT take Tables in Wonderland at the time of this review so there was no free valet for me this night (which was unfortunate considering there was an angry cloud looming over me the whole day). Anyway, onto the review!



Upon arriving on the 16th floor, we decided to get drinks and some snacky's at the Dahlia Lounge. I'm usually not a big wine drinker (more on that later) and none of the specialty cocktails were really tickling my pickle as there was a real lack of anything made with Vodka, luckily our bartender Tiffiny whipped me up a Blackberry Lemon Drop which was delicious! It didn't quite rival the Blueberry Lemon Drop from California Grill but Tiffiny worked with what she had and I ended up having two before the night was done.

We then moved on to some Tapas. My mother opted for the Valdeón Blue Cheese with fig and honeycomb and said it was delicious, obviously, a Tapas which is mostly cheese was a no-go for me so I went with the Olive Oil-poached Tuna with Lemon  and olive and green onion aïoli.



This was Dairy-Free as is so nothing had to be modified, and boy oh boy was I happy 'cause this was an explosion of flavor. I finished it in about 3 bites and missed it immediately following the final swallow. The tuna was perfection and this was following a less then stellar Tuna Tataki I had earlier in the week so this was much needed. The aïoli really tied it all together so I was really happy that I didn't have to omit it.


All the tapas were also served on these melted down wine bottles which were also a nice touch. Later on, at dinner we ordered one more tapas, the Traditional ‘Tortilla Española’ Spanish Potato Omelet with jamón serrano, picholine olive relish. This was my mothers' request and was also Dairy-Free, I, however, didn't think it was anything special. It tasted all egg to me and I make a better vegetable scramble on a normal day, to be honest.

After finishing our tapas and drinks we moved onto Toledo, where we were given a beautiful table by the window overlooking Hollywood Studios. It was then I decided I wanted to try one of these wines. I shared with my waiter my taste which is: SWEET and he brought me over this little number to try and it was delicious. The only glass of wine I ever finished AND enjoyed.



Then for the REAL reason for coming. The Charred Octopus. Up until this point I had only ever had the octopus at Citricos and that was impeccable so I had high hopes, and this did not disappoint. It was served with romesco, chimichurri & lentils and the waiter also brought over some bread to dip with, which was much appreciated. This also didn't need any modifications and I think surpassed Citricos. My mother didn't agree but to each his own. This octopus was still amazing in its own right.


I then opted for the Scallops for my main dish which was served with fava hummus, olives, harissa vinaigrette, roasted carrots, and yogurt powder, omitting the yogurt powder made this dish Dairy-Free and was not really missed. I wouldn't have thought wiping up hummus with scallop was something that would go together but alas, I wiped the plate clean. I also got a side order of the Mediterranean Broccoli with honey, golden raisins and honestly if I hadn't told me it was broccoli I would have sworn it was spinach, which isn't a bad thing but I just really like some crunchy broccoli florets.



For dessert, my mother and I opted to share this as she's not a chocolate person and I'm not a sorbet person. This was a plant-based dessert and 100% Vegan so obviously, Dairy-Free as is. I'm not Vegan (clearly, as all I did was eat Seafood) I do however enjoy Vegan dishes as I find the flavor profiles to be more interesting than a normal dish. This was a Chocolate-Avocado Mousse with strawberry-basil sorbet, coconut crumble. Some people say they taste the avocado too much, I, however, thought it tasted more like a dark chocolate dessert hummus, which I eat with a spoon so no complaints here. The mousse was basically the same thing that was in the terrarium from the Trowel & Trellis booth at Flower & Garden this year minus the raspberry jam and chia seeds so if you liked that, you'll like this. And just like that Toledo became one of my new favorite restaurants on Disney Property!


Thank you for reading and don't forget to follow me on Instagram to see more Dairy-Free options in the resorts and parks!

5 views0 comments
bottom of page