top of page
  • Writer's pictureJilly

Grand Floridian Cafe: Full Dairy-Free Review

I 100% think Grand Floridian Cafe is one of the most underrated Disney restaurants. That and Maya Grill (we'll talk about it one day, I promise). It's never too crowded, the cast-members are always so nice, and I have never had a bad meal here.


Today I'm going to be talking about dinner but the Grand Floridian Cafe is open for breakfast, brunch, and lunch every day.


First things first, the waiter will bring you out allergy-friendly bread as well as some Earth Balance. The bread is Deanna's Gluten-Free Dinner rolls which is the same they serve at most locations and are so delicious. Especially at Kona Cafe where I'm pretty sure they heat them up a little bit to mimic the Hawaiian bread.


I skipped the appetizers on both my previous visits as I shared an appetizer at Citricos beforehand but the Chilled Jumbo Shrimp Cocktail ($16) is a dairy-free and I believe the Seasonal Heirloom Apple Salad ($11) can also be modified to be made dairy-free by removing the cheese and perhaps the pecan brittle. Make sure to check with your server on that one though.


Your options for Entrees, however, are abundant, so chances are whatever you're in the mood for you, you can get. One the allergy-friendly menu they have a New York Strip Steak ($34) which is served with Smashed Red Bliss Potatoes and Brocollini, Corn Rice Pasta ($19) which has Chicken, Seasonal Vegetables, and Basil Pesto and a good old fashioned Artisinal Burger ($16), all of which are also Gluten Free.


I, however, opted for this deliciousness. The Miso-Glazed Salmon ($26) is served with Lemon-Scented Sticky Rice, French String Beans & a Ginger-Soy Vinaigrette with Sesame Seeds. The whole thing is then garnished with Cilantro (yeaaaaa baby) and Lime. This is easily the best Salmon I've had at Disney and I've dined at Yachtsman Steakhouse and I would come here every time without question over Yachtsman. Everything on this dish has flavor, nothing is just thrown in there. Both times I had this I wiped my plate clean in minutes.


For dessert they actually have options! You can go for the ever-popular Raspberry Sorbet ($5) option or their lovely new Vegan option the Apple Crisp with Coconut Milk Ice-Cream ($8) which features Caramelized Apples and a Streusel Topping. I've never had this because as much as I love apples, I hate cooked apples, I don't know why, I don't like apple sauce, I don't like apple pie, I just like biting into a nice cold apple and that's it. BUT, my mother has had this multiple times and adores it so as long as you're not a weirdo like me, you'll love it.


I am however a child and got a scoop of the Coconut Milk Ice-Cream from the Apple Crisp served with some Enjoy Life Cookies. That was a good time in my book. My second time however I went upstairs to Citricos for a grown-up dessert which you can read about here.


3 views0 comments
bottom of page